Personal · thoughts

Reasons why I unfriended people on Facebook

1424476

I have to admit I use social media a lot; I have a blog, twitter account and Instagram after all! However, when it comes to Facebook, I often have been reluctant to keep it activated. Why? 2 main reasons:

  1. I spend way too much time on it. I could be doing something more useful with my time.
  2. I don’t want to share too much of my personal life.

When I was college, I can’t tell you how many times that I have “deleted” my Facebook account. I put it in quotation because, if you weren’t aware, your account is never permanently deleted. It just isn’t visible to the public, but all your information and pictures are still there. I always thought that by de-activating it, I would be more productive at school, get better grades, etc. I still did, but I also realized that I just needed self-control when it came to looking at my account. Then, I started thinking about some of the people that I have listed as my “friends” on Facebook. 

Why I un-friend people on Facebook

Yesterday, I did what many call “Spring Facebook cleaning”, even though it’s not spring but fall. I just thought it was about time to share my personal life to only a limited amount of people. Here are some of the reasons why I deleted people from my FB:

We haven’t talked or seen each other in years and we have NOTHING else in common.

I had FB “friends” that I haven’t talked since high school, some even since elementary school. It’s not that I have something against them. I just don’t want to share my private life if they are not “part” of my life… If you just want to stalk me, then sorry (i’m not really sorry!), delete. 

You make me cringe every time I see one of your posts or pictures.  

Yes I know I can “unfollow” them on my newsfeed, but I don’t think that’s enough.

  • Sexual and indecent pictures or 1000 pictures of your face in the SAME angle. Sorry – I don’t want to see that.
  • Gossiping or always (or even at all) posting about your relationship problems (your boyfriend/husband cheating on you, money problems, how you hate this and that person). STOP airing your problems ONLINE. Deal with them in person like an adult.

You always have something negative to say about my posts.

Don’t get me wrong, I love when people have different opinions than me. We live in a free country after all and freedom of speech is highly valued. However, if you start to insult my religion, try to impose your views one me, or simply insult me, then G-O-O-D-B-Y-E. I don’t need negativity in my life.

Why I still keep my Facebook account

It’s one of the best ways to keep in touch with some of my long-time friends and family. It is just an easier way to see what is going on in their lives. Many of them have moved away – to another city or country for work/school, so even though I still have their phone number, it is just more convenient to keep in contact with them. 

My mother and other family members are also on Facebook. It’s easier for me to update them, for them to see pictures of my trips and activities, etc. I still call them every week (sometimes daily). My mother likes to say that she likes checking up on me to see if I am alive and well (we live in different countries). I once deacactivated my account and my mother freaked out because she thought something bad happened to me. 😉

Have you deleted/unfriended people on Facebook?
Why did you?

xo

L ❤

15 thoughts on “Reasons why I unfriended people on Facebook

  1. I recently deleted a friend who went insulted people are commemorating the biggest massacre our country ever had (around 8000 people in one month).

    I also deleted people for being disrespectful to any religion (not just my own).

    I dont need to associate with intolerant pricks in my life, nor social media.

    Bye Felicia

  2. I like to do cleaning like this on my FB. I delete people that I don’t have contact with or people that are annoying with game invitation. Or they are gossiping about me. Etc. Last time I had 500 friends and after cleaning about 120? haha Now ofc again a lot coz of uni but I feel some cleaning time soon… 🙂

  3. I think about this all the time. I have refused to get twitter or pinterest because I’m afraid that I’ll waste even more time online (I’m a faithful facebook user). I’ve deleted FB for a time period (yes – you always get your old account back!). I’ve tried to limit my time on there. I don’t know. I admire people who go without FB. I also admire those who keep their friends list super low. I’ve deleted people before and I guess I’d rather keep my account more “open” but share less personal stuff on it as a result. The “unfollow” feature is the greatest thing that I’ve recently discovered 🙂

    1. I share a lot of personal stuff, only because I moved away from home and it’s going to be harder to keep in contact. (we are moving around, some places have different time zones). It’s nice for them to see what I am up to (trips, etc.)

      As for twitter, I mostly use it for my blog, not really for personal info. Pinterest is used for DIY ideas, recipes, etc.

      I still deactivate FB sometimes to work on big projects and to stay focused.

  4. It is possible to delete. Have done so twice. And you can save photos. If it wasn’t for uni I would be facebookless. I was accused by one student for having a secret because she thought my new not-my-real-name Fb page was suspicious.

    1. It’s not deleted it’s just deactivated you can go back and reactivate it. All your info is still there. Only good thing is people can’t see it even if they searched your name… That’s crazy what did the student think you had to hide?

Leave a Reply

