Personal

The Importance of Saying Thank You

People often joke around and say that Canadians are really polite (most I suppose :)). They say SORRY all the time, even when it’s not entirely their fault. It’s true we do it all the time. Often automatically, without even noticing it. If I bump into someone accidentally at the mall, I will reflexively say “SORRY”. Why? Because that’s what I have always been taught to do. It’s an unwritten rule.

Living in Canadian culture meant that you should be courteous as much as possible with your neighbors. It’s a way for us to defuse any potential conflict. When I say sorry, I:

  • let the other party know I’m not upset
  • indicate I’m not injured
  • suggest we both move on

We could also be genuinely sorry and we are taking responsibility, since our actions hurt others and all of this could have been avoided. I totally understand it — Who wants DRAMA?

Saying “THANK YOU” is also a sentence Canadians often say. I say it because I genuinely appreciate when someone is taking their time to help me, even when it is their job.

WHY SHOULD YOU SAY THANK YOU?

unnamed-2


Of course, there is a time and context when you say Thank you. Otherwise, it would just sound insincere. WHY should you say it?

It shows how much you appreciate their gesture, time, etc. Gratitude goes a long way.

Saying thank you can brighten someone’s day and motivate them in their life or job.

I remember I used to love my job at the bank because people would often thank me for helping them with a tough situation. I would instantaneously feel great and smile the whole day.

It helps to improve relationships.

When you say thank you, people usually will have positive views of you. Those two little words can have a huge meaning. It’s a form of acknowledgement that others’ presence/work is valued.

It is simply polite!

The reason I posted this is because I recently had some experience with someone that did not show their appreciation. My husband and I did something for this couple (that we didn’t have to by the way) and a simple thank you would have been nice. I haven’t heard from them in a week.

I am also in the process of sending out “Thank you” photo cards to my relatives in Canada and Australia. I think it is important to take your time too appreciate the people in your life, especially if they helped you in some small/big way.

Maybe it's just the Canadian girl in me?

xo

L

17 thoughts on “The Importance of Saying Thank You

    1. I expect at least a thank you for what we did for them. They didn’t say anything at all. I don’t think that’s right. I don’t believe you have to say thank you ALL the time, but once in awhile wouldn’t hurt.

      1. By the way — saying thank you and kindness is free. People do good all the time without being acknowledged or taking the credit.

        It’s just something i’ve been taught growing up… saying thank you — little or small gestures.

      2. When you help someone, as a sign of politeness and appreciation, you say thank you. I’ve never heard of someone being told thank you for bad deeds. In what situation would you say thank you then?

      3. One should not expect something in return. Like something material. And sometimes people will not say thank you out of pride or jealousy. I think we should all aim to do things without expecting something in return however a “thank you”can mean much more than receiving material things. I think it is very hurtful when you do something for someone because you genuinely want that person to be happy and successful and they don’t even acknowledge it 😐 because you can then make the assumption that they do not value what you have given or do not value your friendship…maybe. That is how I see it.

      4. I do not believe you are always acting intrinsically😂😂😂. I will give you a personal example. In an ideal world everyone is selfless. But even if you were selfless person we live with selfish people. This means wonderful people get taken advantage of. This can be seen throughout history. I was “best” friends with a girl for 14 years. I would do everything for her because I loved her like she was my sister. It made me happy to take care of her. My mother and other friends told me she did not care for me as much as I did for her. But I ignored them. A year ago I called her crying and desperate because I was going through some personal troubles. She proceeded to tell me that I was acting childish and rude. I told her it was best we did not remain friends. Despite this a few months went by and I contacted her to wish her happy birthday. She said thank you and continued to ignore me for a whole year. When I say best friends, I mean best friends. I felt very hurt. That even our long term friendship she did not feel was worth saving. Through acting intrinsically I made myself vulnerable and maybe as a result could become less likely to want to do more for others….appreciation is not a selfish emotion. It is recognising that every other human is worthy of it. Wow…long reply 😒😎

      5. This is actually a great response. This is what I meant when I said that the people we were helping were being very ungrateful and unappreciative.We weren’t expecting them to give us money or something materialistic. We just wanted them to acknowledge us (not ignore us!), which is not a very hard task to ask. By the way they were even rude to me in the past but we still helped them because they are family.

      6. Where I am from, when you do good, it benefits NOT ONLY yourself, but others. I don’t volunteer in my community out of pure self-interest. I do because I genuinely want to better my community (I am in it!) and make others happy.

        We have been taught to be considerate of others and help them when they are in need. It doesn’t mean that you should let people take advantage of you — That’s why the importance of people appreciating what you have done for them.

      7. That’s how I see it too. I mean I don’t expect ANYTHING from anyone. I do things out of love, especially if it’s close family and friends. The idea of getting a ‘thank you’ for as a sign of appreciation (i’m not even talking material things) is just something that is usually automatic in my culture…

  1. That’s what I meant, when someone does something for me I say thank you. (didn’t I say that in my original blog post?) I do good all the time (I volunteer a lot). I don’t expect people to be bowing at me. I do it because I want to and it’s the right (and good) thing to do.

    However, since it is a close family member, they should at least say thank you to us. You don’t know the context of the story, so next time you comment something to sound like you’re so self-righteous, you should probably ask. You should also probably read the blog post in it’s entirety.

Leave a Reply

