Food

Inihaw na Liempo (Grilled Filipino Pork Belly)

Today, I want to share my love for Filipino food!

I was raised by a single-mom and an aunt that were passionate about sharing filipino culture to every one that they knew  – especially FOOD. So every time I eat something that remotely resembles a Filipino dish, it reminds me of them.

My husband (also Filipino) happens to be a little picky (hehe). He enjoys Filipino food as much as me. However, I don’t know if I ever told you this, but I am not a great cook. I can bake, but can not cook anything edible.

So, one of my goals this month is to learn how to cook a few dishes for my husband (AND me, so we don’t starve!).

This first dish is called Inihaw na Liempo, which is basically grilled pork belly. It’s not healthy at all, since most of it is FAT, but I assure you that it is DELICIOUS! I suggest that you eat this on your cheat day 😉

One great thing about Filipino pork belly is that it does not require a lot of ingredients for the meat marinade. The mains ingredients for the marinade are vinegar and lemon-lime soda. You most likely have this in your fridge, so no need to spend a lot of $$$.

Also, if you do not have an outdoor bbq grill, you can use a George Foreman indoor grill. It works perfectly fine, since that is what I used to make this. It just takes a little longer to cook.

What you need:

  • 2 lb of pork belly strips *** Found mostly in Asian markets
  • 1/3 cup lemon-lime soda (i.e. Sprite, SevenUp) 
  • 1/4 cup rice vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon freshly minced garlic
  • 1 tablespoon white sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon Kosher salt
  • 1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

* You will also need a large Ziploc bag to marinade the pork belly.

Follow these 5 steps:

  1. Add the lemon-lime soda, vinegar, minced  garlic, white sugar, Kosher salt and black pepper to a large Ziploc bag. Seal the bag and shake/mix it.
  2. Add the pork belly to the Ziploc bag. Shake/Mix it so that the marinade is covering all the meat.
  3. Marinade for at least 2 hours (or overnight). Keep refrigerated.
  4. Cook on an outdoor grill (for better results) or George Foreman Indoor grill.
  5. Make sure that every time you turn the pork belly (3-4 mins) that you add some marinade sauce to the meat. This will make the meat taste good.

Filipinos usually eat pork belly with white rice (we do anyway).

Enjoy!

xo

Lily

Leave a Reply

