Travel

Travel : Toronto, Canada

 

As mentioned in my previous post, my fiancé and I vacationed last week in Toronto, Canada. It was not my first time there, but it was for him. One of the things you will notice about us is that we enjoy traveling together. This is our first vacation in 2015.

We rented a condo in Corktown, which was a 10 minute car drive from the main downtown attractions. A local told us that the name derives from the 18th century when many Irish immigrants from Cork County settled in the area. He also said the name stuck around for so long because the area still has breweries and cork manufacturers. Pretty neat indeed.

The view was AMAZING. We could see the CN tower from our living room and we would wake up to this beautiful view every morning. It was simply breathtaking.  I am so glad I had the opportunity to show my fiance a bit of Canada.

Here’s what to do in downtown toronto:

1. CN TOWER on Front Street

This is the signature icon of Toronto and of course a symbol of Canada. If you are visiting Toronto, even for a short while, I suggest taking the time to go there and enjoy the spectacular view of the city. I’ve been there twice already, once with one of my closest friends and once with my fiance.

TIP 1: Purchase your ticket ONLINE 24 hours in advance. Online ticket for adults is 29.00$ + tax without the SkyPod (the difference is the view is lower). add 12.00$ if you want the ‘ultimate’ tourist experience.

Personal experience: I did both WITH and WITHOUT SkyPod. If you are on a budget, I suggest just paying 29$. Even WITH the SkyPod, I still didn’t think it was THAT worth it paying almost 95$ for two adults. Even my fiance was quite shocked. PLEASE do not forget my fellow Americans that sales tax in Ontario is currently 13.5 %.

TIP 2:  If you are planning to visit during the weekend, I suggest going after 3 p.m. or late during the evening to avoid the huge crowds of families and groups. We obviously forgot that it was SPRING BREAK last week and we had to wait in line (around 30 minutes). Even with online tickets, you still have to go through that line  and go through security check.

TIP 3: Pictures that are taken at the CN tower by photographers working there are EXPENSIVE in my opinion and are NOT THAT great quality. All they did is photoshopped you and glued your body on a NOT so fancy background of the CN tower. You can take a much better picture outside with your cell phone.

PRICE: 30$ for one big picture and two small printed pictures in a small magnet souvenir frame. NOT THAT worth it (in my opinion).

POST TO BE CONTINUED… (PART 2)

 

One thought on “Travel : Toronto, Canada

  1. I love your blog, your posts are beautiful! I just followed you, it would be great if we can support each other 🙂 I am so glad I got to discover you ❤

Leave a Reply

