Travel

Review: Traveling with Megabus

This past week I was in Toronto where I met up with my fiance.Two months was obviously too long for us to be apart any further so we decided last minute on this short trip. I chose the least expensive way to travel from Montreal to Toronto: MEGABUS.

I have traveled with them in the past and I had a relatively good experience. If you do not have big expectations, you will not be disappointed! Here are the benefits and drawbacks of traveling with Megabus:

1. Depending on where you are going, it’s usually the cheapest way to get to your destination.

From Montreal to Toronto, round trip, I paid around 72$ (tax included). There are other variables that can make your ticket even cheaper: the time & day of your departure. Leaving really late at night or early in the morning is usually cheaper as well as leaving on a weekday instead of the weekend. I guess this also applies to airline tickets… Booking early can also increase your chances of getting cheaper tickets. I’ve seen 20-27$ prices in the past. If I had taken the plane it probably would have taken me only 2 hours or less to get to Toronto but I would have had to pay 250-300$ to make that happen. Megabus brought me to Toronto in 6 hours for more than half the price.

2. FREE WIFI and plugs for your electronics

If you are lucky and the bus is not packed, you have a greater chance of being able to surf the net for FREE. The first time I used Megabus, the Wifi did not work. This was probably because every one was trying to use it or the bus’ Wifi was out of order. During this trip, I was lucky and I was able to chat with my fiance while he was waiting for his flight. I was able to read emails and pay bills.

What I probably hate the most is a place without any plugs to charge my phone and tablet. Luckily, there are many outlets on the bus.

3. One free bag per person

Megabus lets you bring one carry on size luggage AND a personal bag that can fit under your seat. I’ve seen some harsh comments online about travelers insulting employees because they refused their large bags. It’s the company’s policy and it is certainly there for a reason. If you are planning to move across the country with all your belongings, this is NOT the good choice for you. In Montreal, they aren’t that strict. I’ve seen people bring one 28 inch luggage and they weren’t turned away. I guess it depends if there are a lot of people with luggages and if the bus does multiple stops.

Needless to say, you were definitely warned in advance about their bag policy!!! It’s a bit harsh to call them a bad company if you can not read and follow rules like a normal, educated adult.

My overall experience would be 8/10. I would definitely recommend them to my friends and family.

2 thoughts on “Review: Traveling with Megabus

  1. Megabus is really really good and their prices stay around the same even close to the departing date. Some of their buses are not so great but they do have nice ones. I always recommend National Express, Mienfernbus and Eurolines for within Europe.

Leave a Reply

